Movies | Music | Music

Apsara Awards - Press Note


Apsara Awards becomes the Leader of Innovations

‘Zee  Apsara  Awards’ is a first of its kind initiative that celebrates women achievers across media, entertainment and other fields. This year marks its second edition. The Event celebrates womanhood with a tinge of glamour, achievements and some mind-blowing performances.

The event was organized on Sunday, 9th April at Annapurna Studios 7 Acres, Hyderabad.

Legendary filmmaker K.Viswanath launched the event along with fabled actress Sowcar Janaki and veteran singer Vani Jayaram. Deputy Chief Minister of Telangana Mr. Mohammad Mahmood Ali graced the event. Additional Commissioner of Police for the city of Hyderabad Mrs.Swati Lakra was felicitated in the event and Indian Cricket Team Captain Mithali Raj also attended the event.

This year, Zee Telugu and Facebook partnered together on an extensive digital campaign for Apsara Awards. The association kick-started with creating a special Voting Bot on Facebook messenger. This is the first time in South India an interactive polling bot for people to vote their favorite stars was used. A  live polling option where people can comment on the post to vote for their favorites and the percentage of votes for each nominee is displayed was also created for the first time in South India (eg:

Apsara Awards 2017 also becomes the 1st in South India to do continuous Pink Carpet Facebook Live for more than 3 hours. This also marks the association with a digital content creator in Telugu Jahnavi, popular as ‘Mahathalli’. The Live feed reached more than 2.7 Million people and garnered more than 900k views.

Facebook’s Head of Regional Markets India, Mr. Ankur Mehra quotes ‘We are pleased to partner with Zee Telugu for Apsara Awards and look forward to strengthening our partnership.”. Zee Telugu’s Business Head Mrs. Anuradha Gudur says, ‘This is the first time we have partnered with any platform at this level and Facebook has been extremely supportive’.

The event was full of glitz and glamour as actresses from across generations have walked in. There were some mind boggling performances by Adah Sharma, Pragya Jayswal, Sayesha Singhal, Mehreen, Nora Fatehi and Miss Andhra Pradesh & Miss Asia Pacific International Srishti Vyakaranam along with singer Geeta Madhura who performed on some hit numbers. A powerful act on female infanticide by Drama Juniors contestants was also part of the event. Celebs like Khushboo, Shriya Saran, Rahul Preet, Nadhiya, Hansika, Keerthy Suresh, Anupama Paramerswaran, Cathrine Tresa, Ritu Varma, Niveda Thomas, Neerja Kona, singer and dubbing artist Chinmayi Sripada and others attended the event adding to a huge list if guests.

The Pink Carpet is going to telecast on 22nd April at 4PM and the Awards event will be telecast on 23rd April from 4 PM. For more updates, stay tuned to Zee Telugu.

Updated on April 19, 2017